Goodbye.

Lets talk about goodbyes through a poem I wrote a year ago.

In my last post,(click here to find that) I talked about changing schools and learning from it.I also mentioned that I grew to love my old school so much,I was shattered to leave it.I wrote a little poem when I came back after my last day at that school,over a year ago and found it quite recently when I stumbled upon one of my old journals.

Here goes,

GOODBYE

That day I smiled,

but my heart wasn’t in it,

My shirt and a bunch of markers,

was  all that took to stain it,

With little doodles and scribbles,notes and drabbles,

Memories flowing on fabric,inside jokes coming up like cadets,

but amidst the frolicked frenzy,

sitting upon our heads like death looms upon an ancient man,

The smirks were gone,

and in their place came the tears,

travelling down our faces to the very tips of our noses,

trailing a path in seemingly measured doses,

the hugs were shared,kisses not spared,

and then ,then was uttered that one word,

that encompassed all that had happened throughout our time together,

the one that would be remembered,

when our hair turned white,

and our legacies gathered around us tight,

the one glorious- Goodbye.

 

10 thoughts on “Goodbye.

      1. It is a joy to read your posts…my privilege…and, thank you so much for reading/liking so many of my posts! So generous of you…I appreciate your time and positive regard so very much!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

